Carmarthenshire County Council is an authority in south west Wales, including towns such as Carmarthen, St Clears, Laugharne, Llandeilo, Llandovery and Llanelli.

Carmarthenshire is one of the six authorities in the Education for Regional Working (ERW) Joint Education Service.

The school population is the fourth largest in Wales, numbering over 26,500 pupils. The authority is responsible for a total of 109 schools.

There are 95 primary schools, with an average size of 164 pupils, ranging from Meidrim C.P. School with c. 20 pupils to Ammanford Community School (Bro Banw) with over 450 pupils.

There are 12 secondary schools with an average size of 932 pupils: of these, eight have sixth forms and four do not.

There are no through schools in Carmarthenshire.

The authority has responsibility for two special schools: Ysgol Heol Goffa which has post-16 provision and Ysgol Rhydygors which does not.

Nearly two thirds of Carmarthenshire primary schools are Welsh medium (60) or Dual language (9). Carmarthenshire has four bilingual secondary schools and one Welsh medium.

Follow the links below for more information and analysis . . .