Ceredigion County Council is an authority in west Wales, and includes the communities of Aberaeron, Aberporth, Aberystwyth, Borth, Cardigan, Lampeter, Llanarth, Llandewi Brefi, Llandysul, Llanilar, Llanrhystud, Llanon, New Quay and Tregaron.

Ceredigion is one of the six authorities in the Education for Regional Working (ERW) Joint Education Service.

Ceredigion has one of the smallest school populations in Wales, numbering under 10000. The authority is responsible for 36 schools. 

There are 39 primary schools, with an average size of 110 pupils, ranging from Ysgol Gymunedol Syr John Rhys with c. 26 pupils to Ysgol Gynradd Aberteifi with around 400 pupils. 

There are four secondary schools all of which have sixth forms. There are three through schools of which two have sixth forms and one does not.

Ceredigion does not have a special school, unlike all other Welsh local authorities.

Of the 39 primary schools in Ceredigion, 34 are Welsh medium and 5 are English. The three through schools are all Bilingual, as are two of the secondary schools.

Follow the links below for more information and analysis . . .